New Year’s Resolution

I can honestly say, I have never set a New Year’s resolution. But, guess there is a first time for everything, right? This year I set my first resolution for myself to get healthy and stay committed to it. I am not in a poHappy-New-Year-Wallpapers-of-2014-2sition where I need to lose weight, but eating healthier and getting fit is different. Setting a resolution like this is a lifestyle change; it requires a commitment, schedule change, and different eating habits. Ironically, my friend, whom is a coach for Beachbody, posted a challenge on Facebook to get healthy in 21 days! I thought to myself, what a great opportunity for me to get started and committed to my new healthy living lifestyle. I signed up, and thought to myself; in order to be successful at this, I need to make this a promise to myself, and be accountable for my decisions. A commitment like this does not only requires dedication, it requires a lifestyle change, I made the following decisions to make this work: I committed to working out in the morning (I am not a morning person, but with school and kids, if I wanted to do this, I had no other choice), I needed to become consistent with meal planning and making the right food selections and controlling the portions, and lastly I needed to seek to my family for support. Setting these goals and commitments allowed me to start my fitness journey and start the New Year out right!
It has been 2 ½ weeks since I have started the 21 day program, and am amazed with how I am feeling! My first concern with this goal was actually committing to getting out of bed in the morning. I am not going to lie, it is tough! I have not missed one day of working out, and once I finish, I feel great! Since I have started, I feel better, I am in a better mood, which makes my family in a better mood (moods are contagious), and I am seeing results (best motivator of all, but it takes TIME and Dedication!
Losing weight and getting healthy are very common resolutions and goals set by many, but committing must be a goal in itself. Planning is also key, set times for the workouts, make grocery lists, and prepare your meals and snacks ahead of time. Time is a precious thing to everyone, but having commitment will allow you to MAKE time. I am not writing to make a sales pitch, I am writing to share my journey and encourage others they can make their New Year’s resolution a reality too. I have small children, a full-time job, and going to school; if I can do it, so can you! Let’s DO this!

Leave a Reply

