Greek It Is!

greek yogurt

On my journey of healthier (cleaner) eating, I have discovered something wonderful… Greek Yogurt! Greek yogurt comes in many flavors, but I am referring to plain Greek yogurt. For someone that has never tried it, may think it is quite bitter, and to say the least, horrible. I thought that until I started getting creative with it.
To eat at for a snack or breakfast, I like to add fruit, granola, or another great option to sweeten it up a bit is to add honey. I also enjoy it in shakes and smoothies as well.
The best yet that I have discovered, is it is a great substitute for sour cream. Tastes great with tacos, Quesadillas, chip dip (add salsa or fresh chives. ) Last night I made Jalapeno Popper Chicken, which called for mayo and cream cheese. I substituted with 1/2 the cream cheese using 1/3 less fat, and Greek yogurt… it was amazing (see recipe below).
Spread the word…. Greek yogurt is such a healthier choice and so versatile, everyone should be aware! I cannot wait to continue to find recipes to use it in.

Jalapeno Popper Chicken

4 Chicken breast
4 oz Cream cheese
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 can Green Chiles
Shredded cheese

Place thawed chicken breast in baking dish. Mix cream cheese, yogurt, and chiles and spread over chicken. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 min. Sprinkle cheese on top and place back in oven till melted.

Leave a Reply

